Calling The Gamers Home

If I was going to pick a business to do in our area, I’d pick the eSport facility below is my strategy overview for a small business, eSports Gaming Facility.

This is what an eSport facility looks like in action

            First before we get into what the overview is I’d like to take a moment to educate those who may not know what an eSports Gaming Facility is. “Esports are video games which are played in professional competitions, usually fall into a few major genres. The majority of esports titles are fighting gamesfirst-person shooters (FPS), real-time strategy (RTS), or multiplayer online battle arena games (MOBA), with the MOBA genre being the most popular in terms of participation and viewership.” –wikipedia.org

The wiki page talks about 45 games that are part of the eSport scene.

“Esports are video games which are played in professional competitions, usually fall into a few major genres. The majority of esports titles are fighting games, first-person shooters (FPS), real-time strategy (RTS), or multiplayer online battle arena games (MOBA), with the MOBA genre being the most popular in terms of participation and viewership.”

wikipedia.org
  1. Rent out the old toys are us building and redesign the inside for gaming parties, a bunch at any given time and a lounge area for fans friends and family to watch with big screens and comfy chairs. A kitchen or food supply of some kind should be met or at least to start vending machines with gamers fave snacks.
    1. The demand already exists so I believe the company should start with demand harvesting.
    2. After setting up a Facebook for the gaming facility they should start posting ads on Facebook, Twitter, and making active posts about what’s going on with the facility update a calendar of events they host per month or few months. Create custom content of related events from the past to promote the event again in the future. Share gaming memes. Share things in gaming groups for the games you plan to offer events for. Example Overwatch most likely has a group on Facebook talk to admins and see if you can post about the tournament in the Green Bay area. You may even get more people from other areas who travel for competitive gaming.
    3. Monitor pages like mountain dew who target gamers specifically Game Fuel page, I’m sure it has one of some kind. As social listening follow #’s like #GameFuel #Gamers or the name of the games they offer competitively. #Doritos might not be a bad one either.
    4. Gamers are going to want to game competitively if they think they are good. They will have friends who will join also so word of mouth will get you lots of people checking it out. Being as it is a local area thing that doesn’t have much in the area it might want to invest in SEO as to direct people to their business. As stated, the people might be willing to travel for it.
    5. Going forward they would want to continue to pay for advertising especially when or if they roll out a new game because the games are always coming out. Make sure to stay current with what people want to play. And have variety.

Ok, so now the class is coming to a close and it’s time for reflections on what I have learned and what I am taking away from this course. I learned Digital marketing is responsible for why I feel like my phone is creeping on me at all times. But now I know that its from cookies and info I have given to parties connected and through things I have bought. Which is why sometimes the Facebook ads from china really get me going for an impulse buy. I learned it can be a whole job to creep on others for a company to find a weakness to exploit to their gain of customers. And that the way we buy has changed ZMOT. I learned that even thought most old things die out email will never die. Email marketing is a sure fire hit for you so long as you have catchy email headings and are only sending to those who want to receive them.  Also google uses your old email to catch companies emailing improperly. I learned I am not as good at picking out answers from reading than I thought I was. Also, I learned that digital marketing might not be something I really want to pursue. It seems very boring. Was anyone else bored by the lessons about digital marketing? I got marketing and maybe advertising confused, I guess. But I have never taken an advertising class yet so maybe it’s not even that.

6 thoughts on “Calling The Gamers Home

  1. I am glad that you were able to share the experience with gamers. I have heard about gamers gaming professionally. I know that some prizes can be won up to $10,000 or more. I have never had the eye or hand coordination for it. My brother always made fun of me when I would try to drive the racing games because I would end up crashing all the time and usually within the first 20 seconds or less. Its all in good fun. I didn’t know the various games were available.

    Like

  2. I was shocked at the number of games too. & I also run into walls and everything when driving in a game 🤣🤣 but I can play story driven games decently. Video games are one of two hobbies I have lol could you imagine winning 10,000$ for placing in a game? That’s so nuts!

    Like

  3. Hello! Thanks for a great post. The old Toys R Us building would be good to use. I feel so sorry for all of the empty buildings around town, like all of the old Shopko buildings, the mall, etc. I wonder how something like that would do in Green Bay? Anyways, I enjoyed reading your last comments about what digital marketing really is. I appreciated your bluntness in regards to the reality of how it is impacting our lives. As we learn about different areas of marketing, each sector may not be for everyone. I am glad that this class helped you to discover what you may/may not want to pursue in the future. Learning helps us to do that. Have a great rest of the semester.

    Like

  4. I thought that your strategy for the eSport facility was truly effective and engaging to read. I’m glad that you included the definition of what an eSport facility all encompasses, because prior to reading this post, I had no idea! It sound absolutely exciting, and like something I would like to do one day. I like that you mentioned that you would monitor pages like Mountain Dew that already attract gamers as well. I believe that this would truly work in a real-life scenario. Additionally, I also feel relieved after taking this class and have been educated on why I feel like my phone is reading my mind…It’s because of digital marketing! However, I was not bored by the material in this class. I found the content to be engaging, constantly peaking my interest. This is probably because I’m pursuing a similar degree to Digital Marketing in my future, but I also understand where you are coming from. For someone who was not sure what to anticipate prior to taking this class, I felt a nervousness when I first came into it. I’m glad that you had this experience, however, as it is important to learn what you like and don’t like to do before committing to a profession. I wish you all the luck in your future endeavors, and I know you will find something great! 🙂

    Like

  5. These thoughts were interesting to read, and monitoring other pages was not what initially came into my mind when I was researching esports for my own. This was overall and interesting read and the image of the esports facility was extremely eye-catching, and drew me into the post immediately.

    Like

Leave a comment